BFREPA Awards dinner was packed out in 2019

Businesses and individuals are invited to submit nominations for the British Free Range Egg Awards 2022, which will be presented at a special gala dinner on 28 September in Birmingham.


Back after a two-year break due to Covid, the British Free Range Egg Producers Association (BFREPA) initiative celebrates farmers, individuals and businesses which have made positive or sustained contributions to the sector.


Previous winners include Morrisons for its pick your own free range eggs initiative, and producers Jim and Anne Smillie of Corrie Mains Free Range Eggs, Ayrshire, for what the judges described as ‘a shining example of what a free range egg business should be’.


Acknowledging excellence in free range egg production, the most coveted prizes are two Producer of the Year trophies. Each winner will receive a year’s free subscription to BFREPA.


The winner of the Employee of the Year winner collects £500. In 2019 Natalie Bennison was recognised for her efficiency and vigilance in her role as site manager at Sunrise Eggs for 10 years.


James Baxter, BFREPA Chairman said: “The awards recognise the incredible contributions of those who have played their part in driving forward the free range egg industry. They celebrate those who have made a difference recently – our Farming Hero category for example – and over several years with our Lifetime Achievement accolade. It is a great opportunity to get the industry together again and celebrate the achievements of those who win the awards.”


Winners will be announced at the Hilton Metropole Hotel where they will be provided with free overnight accommodation and entry to the BFREPA Conference the following day.


James Baxter said: “BFREPA is extremely grateful to its sponsors for the awards – ForFarmers, DSM, Newquip, Elanco and Noble Foods. They make a huge contribution towards it being a success.”


The entry form can be found at where nominations can be put forward for one or more of the categories, followed by a brief description of why they are worthy recipients. For the two Producer of the Year categories, an additional producer information form must also be completed.


The deadline for entries is 3 June 2022.



More Press Releases